Lean vs Rich, Exhausts and the lust for more performance. Honest Question.

Hatata

.060 Over
Ride
Triumph RocketR
Hello everyone.. I have seen quite an influx of exhaust posts recently and lots of folks lusting over squeezing every inch of performance from the 2020 Rocket. Nothing new really almost every bike with a forum has people agonizing over fuel maps and getting their engine to perform above factory. I am not a mechanically inclined person but wanted to share my mindset and tell me if I am right or wrong in my fears to mod any engine components above stock. So.. yes I would love to have my 2020 R sound a little more aggressive... I see a lot of people commenting on how lean the bike is running to meet emissions standards ..etc. Everyone wants a new tune to get around this obviously. My question is... if Triumph engineered the bike to have a certain type of fueling wouldn't the entire engine's longevity and performance be built with that in mind? Meaning if I re-tune my bike there are no guarantees that internal components or oil change intervals are now accurate or have been tested by Triumph to be parameters the engine can sustain for its life time? That is what always worries me when I am like every one here wanting to hot rod the bike further. Not to mention give Triumph an excuse to duck out of any warranty claim related to the engine or power train.

My point is in my mind Manufacturers likely design the entire bike around the engine. The transmission has to be able to accept a certain amount of power without over stressing. So I am always worried that mod'ing an engine is just a pathway to less reliability and especially with a new platform like this not enough mileage on the engine to understand how components will fail, and not enough third party manufacturers selling strengthened components.

Am i totally off base to feel this way? is it a risk vs reward at the end of the day? Or are Engines not as sensitive as I think?