Latest Project: Honda 305 Scrambler restoration

britman

Nitrous
Ride
2005 Rocket 3/2014 Moto Guzzi Touring
A few months back I decided I needed the motorcycle I lusted for when I was in High School, a CL77 or better known as the Honda 305 Scrambler. I had restored a couple a few years back and sold them, this one's for me. I located a candidate in Kentucky and after a two day trip, it was home and it is a 1967 the year I graduated from HS. Rough as a cob, but after some wrenching, praying, and cussing, it came back to life and the old motor fired after sitting for at least a good twenty years. Everything was torn back down and the process started of applying lipstick to a pig. Today I finally hit roller status and I really think I saw a slight flicker of light at the end of the infamous tunnel. Parts have been a bear to locate and **** expensive since the bike was only produced for three years, but I have really enjoyed the process...

DSC03785.JPG
DSC03786.JPG
DSC03878.JPG
DSC03857.JPG
DSC03893.JPG
DSC03889.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Wow great job. Brings back great memories. I remember my father taking me to the Honda dealer when I was 14 and letting me pick out a used 250 Scrambler. Didn't even have a driver license, used to ride it in the concrete river bed. Rode the hell out of that thing. Never broke down just ran and ran don't think I ever changed the oil, just a kid and didn't know any better. Sold it to a friend back from Vietnam and he took it rode it down to Mexico. The wind in my face and my girlfriend on the back, man I loved that thing.