Introduction and problems

Gearhead

Standard Bore
Ride
2005 Rocket 3 Roadster
Hello! I am new to the Triumph family. I have been a V-Twin chopper kind of guy, but when I saw the Rocket 3 I thought man this thing is a beast. I had to have it! Sadly though I thought I was getting a deal on one that only had bad fuel. It has sat for 2 years. Going to try and clean the injectors the way I read on some of your guys U Tube link. When I test drove it it started and ran. Made it about 200 yards then started to spit and stutter jerk and backfire. Made it back and started by draining fuel and adding sea foam. Still backfire and had to feather the throttle to keep it running. I finally rode the bike home thinking the injectors would clear but nothing changed. No engine light. Took it apart and sprayed cleaner on the injectors and put it back together. Fired right up and idled for 4-5 sec. then idled up to 2000 rpm then back down to 800 ish and died. Engine light is now on. Thought I missed plugging something in. I found that I missed the vacuum line to the MAP sensor. Plugged it back in and it went back to the way it ran before but now the engine light stays on. I unplug it and it will start and do the same as mentioned before. Going to take it apart and clean the injectors (the right way) and check for bad vacuum hoses. Any input would be appreciated.

I would send the injectors off to a professional injector service. Had mine done for $18.00 each through RX Injector Service out of Houston. Tested, cleaned properly, flow tested, new filter baskets installed, new upper and lower O-rings installed, even returned with a performance sheet. All done with about one week turn around. Great service and performed for the Triumph price of o-rings alone! If interested, I'll post the performance sheet (if I can find it).