Info and Tunes needed for Tuneboy and PC-V w/Carps. 240 kit.-DONE AT LAST-

Discussion in 'Trading Tunes' started by kcc11, Nov 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. kcc11

    kcc11 Supercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cypress Texas
    Ride:
    2005 Rocket III Std & 2012 R3R with 240 Carp. kit
    Found a tuner and is about 6 miles from the house. Never know he was there. Down a dirt road and has been there for years. Found a number of problems.
    1st. was running very lean, like 14 -1 at idle and would jump to 18-1 under throttle. Full or part throttle was way to lean. He starts to adjust the tune and it is getting better. started lower RPM's and working his way up. Starts at the 50% throttle and the bike shut down then came back to life, **** near jumped off the dyno. Was acting like it was running out of fuel. Motor shut down. had a hard time restarting and when it did had raw fuel from the exhaust?? Smoothed out and tried again. Something. Checked the MAP hoses and the PC-V.
    2nd. Found the crank sensor wires from the PC-V were not connected??? Connected wiring and was running better but not great. Now the motor will hit 5,000 rpms then starts to cut out like hitting the rev limiter. Sometimes the motor will shut all the way, other times will be fine under 5,000.
    3rd. Now the motor is running very rich??? Can ride it and keep the rpms under 5,000 and it is fine. Need to work on the off idle a bit but ok.
    4th. The PC-V only goes to 7,000 rpms??
    5th. The vin number in the ECU is not the same on the bike. Is newer??
    6th. Need the Tuneboy Tune if possible and the PC-V.
    This is just a start I think. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. R-III-R Turbo

    R-III-R Turbo Warp Speed: ENGAGE

    Messages:
    1,262
    Featured Threads:
    27
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1,906
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ride:
    '10 Supercharged Carpenter'd Roadster, 04 Hayabusa
    Whoa dude sounds like you got a whole bunch of problems there. Is it the '05 or the '12 bike?

    I'd download the PCV install instructions and check the installation is legit. E.g. your crank sensor plug not being connected meant the PCV don't know what RPM the engine is at and hence can't accurately fuel.

    Then plug it into computer and update the firmware on the PCV (mine went bonkers a few years ago, ran real lean etc like yours, and a firmware update fixed it).
    I'd also hookup TuneBoy / TuneECU for the diagnostics and see what your MAP vacuum readings are like.


    Here is a 9000rpm Rocket PCV map template;

    9000rpm Rocket III PCV Map Template (Superfine % Throttle)



    Re Tuneboy; did you get a copy of your Tuneboy map from Carpenter in an email?

    I've a suspicion that Tuneboy maps (9000rpm ones at least) can only be read by certain versions of the TuneEdit (Tuneboy map editor) program.
    So you'd need to get that TuneEdit version off Carpenter too to read the map.


    Regardless, if you wish to go TuneECU with the map;

    04-09 Standard/Classic
    Carpenter Racing 240hp map (TuneECU version) - older Rockets

    10-present Roadster
    Carpenter Racing 240hp map (TuneECU version)
     
    kcc11 and Steel like this.
  3. kcc11

    kcc11 Supercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cypress Texas
    Ride:
    2005 Rocket III Std & 2012 R3R with 240 Carp. kit

    I spoke to Bob earlier today for a few minutes and he told me that there was a problem with some of the 2011 and 2012 ECU's and Tuneboy not getting along?? Said to unplug the PC-V and see if the rpms come back. If they do then is a bad PC-V. Then the fuel pump and/or filter problem and last the ECU. Need to call back and get the Tuneboy key and MAP. (He was in a hurry on another call).

    I thinking that the ECU may have been replaced and a stock tune loaded in. Not knowing that it took a Carpenter Tune. Could explain the lean condition. Need to make a few phone calls to try and find out. I would like to know for sure if it is one of the first Silverbacks. Thanks for the quick reply.
     
  4. warp9.9

    warp9.9 Pocałuj mnie w dupę

    Messages:
    9,770
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    14
    Likes Received:
    11,123
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Forest City Illinois
    Ride:
    07 Rocket
    Im going to adress this statement. Thats easy if the tune was changed not knowing you should be able to copy it in tune ecu. If it does not recognize the map its probably the newer tune boy. If its 09 and older ecu and still tune boy you should again be able to copy the tune in tune ecu.
     
    kcc11 likes this.
  5. kcc11

    kcc11 Supercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cypress Texas
    Ride:
    2005 Rocket III Std & 2012 R3R with 240 Carp. kit
    Thanks for the reply. I tried to get the Tuneboy Tune from Carpenter's but have not received it yet. Eric said he would look into the ECU being replaced. Would it mess anything up going from Tuneboy to TuneECU tunes? nd then back again. Will disconnect the PC-V and see if it will rev past 5k.
     
  6. Claviger

    Claviger Aspiring Student

    Messages:
    5,915
    Featured Threads:
    138
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    8,362
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    I'd suggest just abandoning tuneboy and using the 240 kit tuneecu map that R-III-R Turbo posted on this site.

    If the tunes a newer version, for the V4 tuneboy software, it cannot be read back out of the ecu, even by tuneedit.

    Once that's in zero the PC-V and let the tuner do his job.

    If it's still breaking up check your coil connections and slightly recrimp the leads.

    The 9000 RPM table for PC-V was also graciously posted here by Art.

    There is NO benefit to using tuneboy over tuneecu except the ancillary functions, which, I've never heard of a single person actually using the their fullest. The things like, launch control, traction control, etc.
     
    kcc11 likes this.
  7. kcc11

    kcc11 Supercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cypress Texas
    Ride:
    2005 Rocket III Std & 2012 R3R with 240 Carp. kit
    i'm surprise that the bike ran has good as it did. Connected the crankshaft sensor to the PC-V. Updated the PC-V firmware. While messing around with the PC-V found the rec limiter set to 5800 RPM???? Reset to 9000 RPM. Motor ran ok and would rev up pass 7500 with no problem. Loaded R-III-R Turbos TuneECU to start with. With the tuned MAP from the first PC-V motor ran good. Down loaded 9000 RPM MAP into PC-V when I got to the tuners. Again was running way to lean, over 17-1 everywhere but at idle it seemed like. He spent a few hours and and is running right 13.5-1 across the RPM range. Maxed out at 192 HP and 150 ft.ib .Bob said the baffle and Ramair would take some power away but sure how much. Also not sure if the motor was rev all the way up to 9k, I think he was letting off around 8k. It was still screaming. The ride home said it all. I thought is was fast before. And it might have been with out the baffle. Runs smoother and the power is stronger.

    Still no answers from anyone about when the ECU was replaced and why. Thinking that the PC-V may been replaced has well. Or the rev limiter may have been set at 5800 to save it from people rev the thing when it was on tour with Triumph. No one has any ideas on any of it. Wondering if other riders numbers or the same with my set up.

    Thanks to everyone that chimed in and helped me get this running right.
     
  8. Cav Man

    Cav Man .040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    96
    Featured Threads:
    2
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ride:
    2017 Triumph Rocket III Roadster
    Nice to see things work out, the expertise amongst some of the members of this site (not me) is amazing!
     
  9. R-III-R Turbo

    R-III-R Turbo Warp Speed: ENGAGE

    Messages:
    1,262
    Featured Threads:
    27
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1,906
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ride:
    '10 Supercharged Carpenter'd Roadster, 04 Hayabusa
    Ah a 2012 Roadster,, was the bike Carpenterised long before you got the bike?

    There was an early Roadsters Tuneboy 240 map that was corrupt and killed ECUs, mine being one of them.
    Maybe that's what happened and would explain why your ECU was replaced.

    Although I thought they changed to the newer map in mid 2012...

    Anywho great that your bike is running good.
    Although 192 is weak enough when you should have well over 220 with decent intake exhaust etc.. e.g. K&N pods and stock exhaust was about 175whp for my 240 kitted engine. Change out exhaust to a good flowing one and BOOM 225.
    Perhaps the limited is actually at 8000 which would also kill some power on an engine kit designed for 9000rpm 240hp.

    Are we sure the limiter in the TuneECU map is still at 9000?
    Btw what intake and exhaust have you got?

    I reckon if you installed the superfine % throttle 9000rpm PC-V template map as it is, that's explain the very lean condition on way to dyno, because it's a template only, no values filled in.
    By right you would have used a PCV map from someone who has a 240 kit already tuned, but nobody has posted one yet, myself included, as they are bike specific really.
    But def better than the blank template.

    The 240 TuneECU or Tuneboy map are a 1-size-fits-all, but-fits-none-right, hence why the PC-V map is needed to tweak the fueling in.

    Oh btw, the PC-V can't directly limit the rpm, unless it has the ignition module attached also iirc. The rpm limit is set by TuneECU or Tuneboy.
    Perhaps the PCV map that was in it was limited in terms of fuel cell table height. It's hard to tell with just posted info and it being 2nd or 3rd hand also really.

    Have you got a dyno graph printout, for us to see?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  10. kcc11

    kcc11 Supercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cypress Texas
    Ride:
    2005 Rocket III Std & 2012 R3R with 240 Carp. kit
    I have a print out but it only shows the HP and torque curve and not thr chart part. Will try to get it fixed tomorrow and then post.

    I have the RamAir intake and the Hotrod pipe with Carpenter's baffle installed. I think this is what is killing the numbers. I thought that there would be a little higher.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice