Howdy from Central Texas (Austin Area)

TheDMan

...wait, um....what was the question again?
Ride
2014 Rocket III Roadster Flat Black
Hello.
I took delivery of my 2014 R3 Roadster Flat Black two weeks ago.

My schedule and the Texas heat has kept me from spending as much time as I would like on her, but the first 150 miles or so have been a blast.

This has been a huge change for me. I only started riding July a year ago.
Previously I have been riding a 2013 Tiger 800 Roadie; very different from the Rocket for sure.

Full exposure to wind + torque of the Gods have had me hanging on and grinning!
I love the way she takes the curves and enjoy the straights as well!
I am planning some low speed parking lot drills to help me get more proficient and safe.

A couple of quirks I have noticed:
  • A loud clunk and physical (slight) movement of the bike when going into first.
  • Rough engagement of second gear. The drive shaft bumps into play; very different than third, fourth, and fifth - which are smooth as silk.
  • Right leg gets pretty hot after riding for a short time; cannot tell if it is coming from the action of the fan pushing air out there (but this is not close to the fan), or radiant heat.
Anyhow, I am completely not mechanical so I will be taking much more than giving on here most likely.
Not likely I will be doing much on the modifications sides either; it's got plenty of power for me at this time.

I am hoping to attend some of the meet ups and look forward to meeting some of you.

Image.jpg

Welcome D man , from one of the Aussies on the Forum ,nice intro and a tough looking ride, you will get used to the heat on the right side ,I just ride with my leg as far away from the headers as possible.

Dman...there are a few of us Lonestar captains. Next time u get the urge to ride just sing out...I can be in Austin in 2 hrs and my daughter lives there so I got a bed. Welcome aboard