buddazero

.060 Over
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster 2018
Hey!

I'm getting my headers coated by Jet Hot, got the new gaskets and going to install them when everything's done. I'm having a bit of trouble getting the old gaskets out, since they're pressed in there.. It's my first time and I want to make sure I don't damage anything.

Any tips on how to get the old gaskets out?

Header gaskets? I changed pipes twice. I don't remember any issues, not like a flat gasket you have to scrape.

maybe you got the one where they added the gasket maker thing...

... in which case, you may now need an scraper and
1631805471176.png

Most header donuts aren't too hard to remove. The torque on the bolts expands the ring, so you'll have to pry it out. Far as I know they don't use any goo-pucky on the new donuts (i.e. don't put any icing on it). The manual probably has the correct information for replacement.

Last edited:
Most header donuts aren't too hard to remove. The torque on the bolts expands the ring, so you'll have to pry it out. Far as I know they don't use any goo-pucky on the new donuts (i.e. don't put any icing on it). The manual probably has the correct information for replacement.

In regards to gaskets. Pretty soon I'm going to put the headers back on. On main thing that was told to me, was to have the headers sit on the system loosely, and after you put on the exhausts and everything, that's when you tighten everything together.

With the headers, do I have to left them up a bit, and then crew on the bolts, and when the bolts I screwed on, finish the job with a torque wrench? 19nm is the setting I believe.

Alright, just ordered

Looks like the toolset that I need. Just ordered it, will let you know how it goes. Thanks for this, much appreciated!