How I tune using POD-300/AT/PC-V/TuneECU

Claviger

Aspiring Student
Ride
'21 Z H2, '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
For those interested in doing it yourself, or who are nowhere near a dyno, I figured I'd show how I do it and how you can adapt the bike quickly.

WARNINGS -

o If at any time you see AFRs in the 15.5:1 or leaner range that's a problem, stop, add fuel to that RPM/TPS area of the table in PC-V, about 10% and start again.

o The more power you make, the harder this is to do! It's very very difficult to do on my bike, for example, at the 70% and higher TPS values I'm either accelerating very quickly, or, I'm traveling at go to jail speeds if using 5th gear.

o Use high octane gas, and if you have it, add 6oz of Torco Accelerator to a full tank of fuel to end up with 95/96 octane. This will prevent most knocking while the engine's at it's highest risk, during early tuning efforts. More Accelerator is not necessary so do not go dumping the whole can in lol.

o I am a HOBBYIST and my methods are MINE. They're what I've come up with that works for me over the years on various vehicles. This will get the bike into a state it can be ridden safely and running fairly well.

o There WILL be more power to be found when put on a dyno and tuned by a pro (which is why I take it to get it's final tune when I'm satisfied that I'm fairly close). I am positive this will be cringe worthy for pro's who do it on a dyno, which allows it to be done much quicker, safer, and more accurately.

Initial Adaptation: