proimage1

.020 Over
I'm on the fence right now and need some advice and suggestions. I have an 04 Speedmaster which I love and plan to keep, but within the next few months, I plan on buying either the Thunderbird or R3. My plans are to keep the SM for running around town and short jogs. I want something bigger for longer trips and highway and interstate rides. I'm torn between the TB and R3.

My questions to you R3 owners. How reliable is the R3 - I really don't enjoy turning wrenches and prefer to have mechanical work done by MC shops. Are there any known issues or problems. I'm leaning more toward the roadster over the touring just from a cost standpoint, then adding a couple of items later ( bags, windshield, etc... )

I'm a bit confused as far as the riding position between the Roadster and Touring -- is the Roadster more a cruiser type with more forward type controls and footrest ?

Any help would be awesome. I'm in the Florida panhandle area by the way !

Regards - proimage1

I've owned both and MUCH prefer the Thunderbird. It handles better (best handling of any cruiser I've been on), is more comfortable (for me @ 5'10 & 150) and is a much better looking bike. Overall, it's a more reliable bike, and a 1000 times more reliable than my old Rocket III Touring. I've never had an issue with my Thunderbird, or any other Triumph I've owned (Speedmaster, Tiger 1050 and Bonnie T100) except the Rocket III Touring. Mine had a long list of issues that ranged from minor to major (head gasket and broken lifter shaft). Triumph hit a home run with the Thunderbird and it's no accident it has won "Cruiser of the Year" 2 years in a row.

The Roadster has mid mounted pegs for more of a standard riding position, very much like I have on my Bonnie T100.