Got the bike dyno tuned

TxRIIIRider

Living Legend
Well, finally decided to cough up $150 and get the bike tuned on a dyno. It was money well spent! I am running Jardines, and a PC-III and my Rocket has 53,000 miles. I don't have the dyno sheet to post yet, as the guys printer was down, but I should have it next week. However, the first run netted 138 HP and 128 lbs/ft of torque. The bike was running rich and then lean on the top end. After tuning, the bike is now putting 142 HP and 140 lbs/ft of torque! I know all dynos read different.., but that was a significant gain.. and probably even get better MPG to boot!

I'm not a mechanic (I'm a CPA, Accountant), but I don't understand how you could get better mileage if you tune a bike that is lean (more air) to run richer (adding more fuel to the mix). The other thing I don't get with trying to tune modern bikes is the way I understand it, the bikes have sensors throughout and the computer monitors and adjusts things on the fly.

Examples:

The Tiger 1050 (other models too, I guess) mitigates heat via the computer. If the heat sensor reaches a certain point the fan will kick on and the computer will actually shoot more fuel into the engine to keep it from overheating.

The Thunderbird actually modifies the tune (for lack of a better term) on the fly to the riding style. It has 2 tunes that it uses for this purpose.

Thus, what I don't understand (I know it's done and works, but...) is how you can tune the bike a certain way and keep it there. Isn't the computer going to adjust and do it's thing anyway?