Doing background research

Stillserving

LET'S GO BRANDON
Ride
86' Magna, 2017 R3R
Hey guys. I've lurked around a little, but figured I'd join and introduce myself. I've been riding for about 20+ years and looking to upgrade to a new bike when the truck is paid off in a few years, and decided the R3 will be the bike! I'm just doing background research so I can hit the ground running when the time comes. Any good research to look at to really get my feet wet?

Howdy & Welcome

images

And thank you for serving! still!
The Best research you can do on the R3 is to keep on fishing through this forum ;) :thumbsup: :cool:

Welcome from Florida,best research go to the dealer like your going to buy one but want to take a test ride you'll be hooked.

Welcome from sunny Southern California!

The Roadster had a significant update in 2010. Besides providing updates for several parts that were prone to failure and blacking out much of the trim, Triumph also made the following important changes:
  • Added ABS
  • Beefed up the clutch, shaft drive, and gear selection
  • Softened the rear shocks 20% (still terrible in stock form IMO)
  • Added clock, fuel gauge, and gear position sensor
  • Changed exhaust configuration to 1 muffler on each side
  • Foot controls moved back 100mm, down 20mm (moving from a cruiser- to a roadster-style stance)
  • Tuned (ECU and exhaust) for 11% increase in HP and 15% increase in torque
Good luck!

Dunno if anyone has maintained a list significant threads for newbies to sift through, but as others have said just lurk around a bit, ask a question in a thread or two and you'll hit the highlights in no time.

FAQs:

Is the touring as powerful a as a roadster?
Yup, differences are mostly cosmetic. They share the same engine and transmission. The performance difference is attributed to an ECU tune you can easily overwrite with a $20 cable, and possibly a little power lost due to the angle of the final drive to accomidate the narrower rear wheel.