Cruiser Motorcycle Mentality

RocketDaryl

Top Fuel
Ride
2019 Indian Scout Sixty
Why are so many guys ate up with performance on "cruiser" bikes? I had a guy asking me about my bike, which was really a guise just to get him started on his. He starts telling how the Rocket III has a large engine and is fast, but his bike (stock VTX) could beat it, blah blah blah. The exception, he says, would be yours. "You'd probably take me because of the weight difference between you and me". I'm not an engineer, but I highly doubt 50-75 lbs is going to make a hill of beans difference. That said:

NEWSFLASH: I DON'T CARE! Mine is not a Rocket III, for starters. It's a Rocket III Touring. Yeah, it's fast. How fast? I don't know and I don't care. It goes 75 mph just fine and I can pass when I need to by twisting the throttle and I get to wherever I want to go in reasonable comfort. That's all I give a rip about.

I don't get it. If *I* wanted performance, I'd buy a ******rocket. And, I don't usually mean mouth the Harley guys because I happen to like Harleys, myself. But, they really crack me up. They buy the slowest bikes on the market and then spend hundreds, sometimes thousands on engine mods to make them faster. In the end, it's their money and I certainly don't care what they spend their money on. But, I don't get the buying a cruiser and then worrying about the performance mentality.

Last edited:
LOL... All he would see from his stock VTX is your tail light getting smaller and smaller..:D
I get that alot, especially with my paint job.. :) Harley guys saying they can take it, etc.. They always seem to back down though when I say "Okay.. well bring it.. ".. lol Something wrong with their bike or something..