Freecrowder

Standard Bore
Ride
Honda VTX 1800
Hello I am currently riding a Honda VTX 1800. The Neo Retro version. I have been very happy with it, runs strong. I have always ridden Hondas, 2 others years back. The one thing to say about the Hondas is that they are bullet proof. Absolutely no problems what so ever. So that is what I am fretting about with an R3.
I'm looking at one from 2005. Excellent condition cosmetically, 22000 miles and has windshield and matching hardbags. I have heard it idle and sounds normal. One thing though the odometer shows 59 miles. The dealer is saying that the odo failed and was replaced and that is why it shows 59. I saw a owners log that showed 22000 for mileage. So mainly I'm concerned of reliability issues that I have been reading about. I am a hands on engineer and could probably do any maintenance myself. Appreciate any feedback. Also wondering how much difference in power with R3 than VTX?

Welcome!!! Ill start from the bottom and go up. More power than you could imagine. Standard R3 has 140hp out of the box. A few mods and you can have more. It has unbelievable torque. As far as the one your looking at...I personally would look for something else UNLESS you are getting it for a steal....that said.....there are recalls and updates to the older rockets....more fellas will chime in to cover that part...if its had its upgrades then probably no reason not to take the plunge.....either way...once you ride you wont ride another! :)

mutt

Welcome from one of the many Aussies on here, I had a Honda VTX 1800 as well, the rocker handles much the same. The VTX is probably just a little better at very low speed, but the power of the rocket is in a different league all together.
Get one you won't regret it

Welcome mate, I would buy 2009 upwards if you can afford to. Some earlier models had gearbox issues and a bearing in the output shaft that detonated. all the major update/upgrades were done in the 2009 models.