Confusing Situation with Horns

Discussion in 'Custom Mods' started by mexican, Sep 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. mexican

    mexican Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    12,785
    Featured Threads:
    76
    Media:
    10
    Likes Received:
    12,262
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Tulsa OK
    Ride:
    2015 Rocket X
    Trying to hook up the horns but ran into a confusing situation, (for me).
    Disconnected the oem horn, found what i thought it was the positive and negative on the horn, if i remember correct my 05 had only one wire which makes the only connection positive and the ground gets it from the frame.
    On the X, it has 2 connections, but when switch is open both of the connectors have power:eek::eek:.
    need an electrical guru to chime in and guide me like you would a 5 year old:oops::oops:
    Thanks in advance:) horn1.jpg horn2.jpg
     
  2. Steel

    Steel Resident Coonass

    Messages:
    6,819
    Featured Threads:
    26
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    18,633
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Cut Off, LA
    Ride:
    2012 Roadster & 2006 Classic
    First I'm not a guru so take my advice or wait for someone smarter. :p

    My 06 has 2 wires, not sure on the 05.
    Plug them both in and it should work. If not switch them to the other post. :D
     
    BigNorm, rainman and mexican like this.
  3. idk

    idk Living Legend

    Messages:
    4,693
    Featured Threads:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6,278
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ride:
    Royal Enfield Bullet
    The switch grounds the horn, power is always on, IIRC
     
  4. mexican

    mexican Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    12,785
    Featured Threads:
    76
    Media:
    10
    Likes Received:
    12,262
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Tulsa OK
    Ride:
    2015 Rocket X
    That
    That makes sense, now, the horns that i got have only one wire connection, how to i go about connecting them since they get the ground from the frame?
     
  5. idk

    idk Living Legend

    Messages:
    4,693
    Featured Threads:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6,278
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ride:
    Royal Enfield Bullet
    If they are more powerful horns then they probably need a relay. Power the relay switch with the horn wires, and power the relay from the battery, via a fuse, and then to the new horn.
     
    Tripps likes this.
  6. Tripps

    Tripps Retired superhero

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    6,475
    Featured Threads:
    35
    Likes Received:
    11,079
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Florida and NY
    Ride:
    R3T,Sprintona,K1200GT, Blackbird
    Forget all that stuff, just yell "beep" really loud.
     
    Ishrub, BigNorm, Sparky59 and 6 others like this.
  7. scot in exile

    scot in exile Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    8,647
    Featured Threads:
    201
    Likes Received:
    11,541
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fort walton Beach FL, Glenrothes Fife
    Ride:
    2005std, 2011 Carp Roadster, 2001 Tri Adventurer,
    First go and stand inthe corner :D buy a decent horn you cheeeeep git:D
     
    Steel and phar2slo like this.
  8. warp9.9

    warp9.9 Pocałuj mnie w dupę

    Messages:
    10,146
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    14
    Likes Received:
    12,099
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Forest City Illinois
    Ride:
    07 Rocket
    Yes a waste of time and money you could spend on the special blinker fluid the Rocket X takes.
     
  9. Ralsmith

    Ralsmith .060 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    173
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    Ride:
    2011 Rocket 3 Roadster
    Place a relay in energized by the existing wires then run a positive wire to the relay contact to connect to your new horn
     
    BigNorm and Jag like this.
  10. Jason Jurgens

    Jason Jurgens Ons gaan nou braai...

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    858
    Featured Threads:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Knoxfield
    Ride:
    2006 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Definitely will need a relay. As already mentioned, the ground is switched. Use the two connections on the OEM horn to switch the coil on the relay. Run a positive from the battery through a fuse to the relay then from the relay to the horn. You’ll have to ground the horn too...either from the battery or a good ground point on the frame nearby. As motorcycles are so short, I would just run it from the battery.
     
    Jag likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Confusing Situation Horns
  1. Rocket Scientist
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    1,870
  2. n8sv8
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    969
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice