Cold Start (non start)

GTO Bruin

.020 Over
I wanted to take my Rocket out for a quick spin last night. It's on a battery tender in an unheated garage. I'd say it was about 28*F (-2*C). When I turned the key, the lights came on and when I pushed the start, it chugged a bunch of times, but never turned over. I repeated several times, but it never started.

I'm new to Rockets, and I was wondering if cold starts are a common issue. I've read about the headlights being run through the ignition switch. That could cause eventual switch issues, but would it cause cold start issues if the switch hasn't failed?

Any advice? Is there a way to enrich the F/A mixture?

Yes, the Roc doesn't like starting in cold weather. Some lucky ones have never had that problem but far too many of us have.

This is my start routine in the cold. 1) turn on key, let the sweeps happen and wait 5 seconds (the discharge of the lights warms up the battery), 2) hit the start for 2-3 seconds, let it turn over 5-6 times, off the starter button, 3) wait 2 seconds and hit the starter again until it fires or dies.

The process has been more successful since I installed the Scorpion battery a few winters ago. This winter I have performed 2 mods that will hopefully resolve the issue once and for all.

1) negative battery cable mod - replace the skinny cable with a larger one. Fairly easy to do. Read the thread on it.

2) replace the 1.2 kW starter motor with a 1.4 kW - surprisingly easy mod to do. Takes about 20 minutes. Read the thread on it.

Good luck.

You'd think that a Pommie bike would at least be cold and water proof. No such luck I'm afraid. Best you can do is keep your battery fully charged and ideally on a tender. Also worth making sure there are good clean contacts at he battery and starter motor. I've heard a light bulb burning all night under the engine can keep things warm enough but I haven't tried it yet. Electric blanket would probably work......