Can't connect to the ECU

talltxguy

Supercharged
Having a problem with the bike and with Tuneboy. I have been running Tuneboy for about six months and have never had a problem with it. Never had a problem with the bike's fuel pump either.

So today I try downloading a tune but Tuneboy tells me "trying to connect to Keihin ECU type," then to "sent initialisation string" and back to the first message, etc. I am unable to download a tune into the ECU, but it will tell me what tune is in the bike.

So I give up on Tuneboy and want to go out riding. When I turned it on, the speedometer and RPM needle went to the right as usual but no fuel pump. When I tried to start the bike, it would not turn over at all; in fact, it made no noise when I tried starting.

I checked all of the fuses, and they were good. The battery is fully charged as well.

Would appreciate any feedback on this one!

Do both your headlights work? If they are both burned out it kills the starter circuit... maybe the fuel pump too...

go through the rest of the drill... kickstand switch.. kill switch on the handlebar... neutral indicator sensor...ignition switch

If you get no action out of any of that... check power and ground to the ECM, I know you said you checked the fuses but you could have a wiring problem of some kind.

Have you done any kind of work to it just recently?

Last edited:
First, are you using the same computer with the same OS and same peripherals? Do you connect the cable, open tunedit and then turn the bike on? If not try it in a different order. Open tunedit, connect cable, turn on bike. Turn on bike, connect cable, open tunedit.

Have you loaded the latest version of Tunedit or is the same version you last used?

If you are using a lap top make sure it is plugged in to a power supply and not just running off of the battery.