Arizona , still looking

Sterling

Standard Bore
Ride
Rocket 2010 shopping
Hey everybody, I've been browsing the pages here for the last month or so due to an injury keeping me in bed. I am not an owner YET, but my old lady gave me the go ahead so with a little planning/research and help from the community here I know I can join the club. I originally was looking at a Diavel but was worried about ride comfort and seating position due to an old back injury(t12) . My biggest fears are the infamous Paint can rattling or mechanical issues when buying used. It's the pre 2010 models with the issues so my question is should I only shop 2010+ or can I get a first generation up to spec? I love tinkering and am mechanically inclined so a little wrenching doesn't worry me too much.
I could really use some knowledge and your expertise on the bike and what to look for when buying used as I have no experience with inline shaft engines . I know to look at the bottom of the engine for oil , leave it cold so I can start it , but only just basics . Almost everyone here seemed knowledgeable or at least friendly so I'm excited to meet some guys with a similar interest.

If you read through recent posts, you'll see 2012+ models having gears explode as well. No years are really exempt.

Thing about forums is you see issues more concentrated than out in the world. Many riders go years and tens of thousands of miles with no trouble. You just have to accept that something could go wrong with any bike, and not worry about things that haven't happened.

The great thing is there's nearly nothing that hasn't been seen before, and there's endless help here on the forum to get you up and riding again should anything go wrong.

Thanks for the advice. I figure no bike is exempt, nature of the beast in some ways , I had heard there was an issue (cams or cam chains?)that had been worked out on a soft reboot in 2010 and didn't know if this was entirely accurate.