my rocket won't start

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Ride
07 rocket III classic
hi
it was a nice friday morning and i decided to take the rocket to work. turned the key on, flipped on ign. switch and nothing happened the only thing that came on was the feeling of dread.
ok time to check out tried it again nothing, i have taillights,little parking lights,horn. about a year or so ago i had put on a couple of relays and wired very simmular to what hanso does. so i turned on lights and both low & hi beams worked. seems as though battery is ok. took el camino to work brought home stuff like multi meter, power probe(tool that will tell pos. from neg. and also make different noise when touched to pos. from neg.) some odds & ends for wire repair.
saturday morning turned on key still nothing. with key on all fuses checked from 12.42 to 12.70 it appears that the switch is ok.
i studied the wiring dia. for a while. and hooked up my power probe and started to check some of the relays. i put 12v to the fan and it came on, 12v to fuel pump and it came on,12v to the engine manage relay and the tach/speedo made the swings and all the lights came on just like they do before it starts. i tried to start it with the starter button and it won't start. looked at the wiring dia. some more, then put a jumper wire from the battery to the engine manage relay apply side and the tach/speedo made the swings and all the lights came on just like they do before it starts and then removed the starter relay and applied 12v to the starter. started right up.
back to the wiring diagram. i think that my problem is under the tank. my best guess is the connector is melted or i have a pack rat or kangerrue mouse chewing on the wires. i will ride it to my shop.
sunday i got to thinking that it is not smart to ride a bike that will do 140mpr without anything to shut it down so i was able to put my jumper wire into the ign. circuit so i could turn it off with the ignition switch.