It won't even start now

Discussion in 'General Tech Talk' started by jetdok5, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. jetdok5

    jetdok5 Standard Bore

    Messages:
    73
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    warren, ohio
    I just got my 07 in mid November and Have not even had the chance to ride it in good weather. I have about 100 miles since I got it and it seemed to be running fine, then, a little popping thru throttle bodies, dead spot on accell, got worse quick. Made it home, and seemed to have trouble at idle in the garage. I thought it was cold temps, (not really that cold yet). The last time I started it, it did not want to stay running, I added gas because I knew it was low but the light was not on yet....no help. Started it a couple of days later and it was real bad, barely ran and running very rich...very rich. then it quit and will not start now. once in a while one cyl will try but not enough. Cranked the bat dead, recharged, no start, no code light. Hooked uo my OBDII car scanner and it did link but showed no codes.
    Any suggestions?
     
  2. xhdskip

    xhdskip Turbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    5,733
    Featured Threads:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    Trophy Points:
    813
    Location:
    North of Tulsa, OKLAHOMA
    Bad TPS in conjunction with a bad battery.
     
  3. xhdskip

    xhdskip Turbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    5,733
    Featured Threads:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    Trophy Points:
    813
    Location:
    North of Tulsa, OKLAHOMA
    Bad TPS in conjunction with a bad battery.
    A hundred dollar harley scorpion battery
    and a hundred dollar TPS should have ya fixed up.
    Triumph might even pop for the TPS if yours is the stock one
    not the "new improved" one.
    I'd get a battery tender too just to keep it charged up.
     
  4. jetdok5

    jetdok5 Standard Bore

    Messages:
    73
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    warren, ohio
    I am sure the battery is good, I cranked and cranked and cranked it dead.I did read a lot about the TPS...anyway to test it?
     
  5. George Todd

    George Todd Standard Bore

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    West Auckland NewZealand
    Hi I had the same thing with a Honda shadow it played around on the motor way I stoped & it would not start I spent a good 4hrs looking and striping sent it to a bike shop 1hr lab & a new battery all good
     
  6. atomsplitter

    atomsplitter .060 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,013
    Featured Threads:
    49
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Scranton, KS
    Replace your TPS. The ECU doesn't deliver fuel without the data from the TPS. Running rich means your TPS is sending the ECU bad data. Your spark plugs are probably fouled from too much gas, clean them (or replace with Iridiums). After that it should run fine.
     
  7. jetdok5

    jetdok5 Standard Bore

    Messages:
    73
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    warren, ohio
    Thanks for the advice, is there anywhere to get one other than the dealer??? any cheaper sources? Is there a way to verify?
     
  8. jetdok5

    jetdok5 Standard Bore

    Messages:
    73
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    warren, ohio
    And while I am in there, should I pull off the secondary plates or leave well enough alone?
     
  9. Bluemarlin

    Bluemarlin Standard Bore

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    56
    Featured Threads:
    2
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    you don't need to remove the secondaries if you have tuneboy. You can install a tune that will open the secondaries completely when you shift into first gear.
     
  10. jetdok5

    jetdok5 Standard Bore

    Messages:
    73
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    warren, ohio
    Thanks for that advice, I am a little gunshy messing with the mapping, tuneboy is the free one, right?
     
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Tech Talk Help! Bike cranks once but won't start. Jun 4, 2013
General Tech Talk Turns over fast but, won't start Mar 4, 2013
General Tech Talk Won't start Nov 5, 2012
General Tech Talk HELP! Won't start...not fuse/relay/battery... Sep 29, 2012
General Tech Talk My baby is sick, won't start!! Jun 30, 2012

Share This Page

Triumph Rocket III