Filter options for the Bearclaw modification needed by Newbie!

sstcycles19

Standard Bore
I am a Rocket Newbie and can't wait to cut the bearclaw and install exposed filters. I was wondering if there are other choices other than K&N. I really like the look of these.
ModdedR3.jpg
[/IMG]
My other question is, do I wait to do this until I get a new exhaust system? Or does that have nothing to do with this mod? I know I will have to get it tuned with new exhaust, but not sure about the filters. Forgive my stupidity, but this is my first Fuel injected moto.
Your opinions on this are greatly appreciated!

Triple filters will require retuning just like exhaust. Anything that allows more air to enter and exit the engine will lean the fuel/air and takes additional fuel to enrichen the mix.

Those tall filters breath nice but keep in mind of where your leg goes .... will they be in the way for you?

Very good point..... But **** they look good. So are there any other choices out there instead of the K&N or are they the only way to go?

That's one reason I like the K&N RU-2780's, the tapered tops stay away from my knee.

FYI, the RU-2780's fit under the stock bearclaw too, by turning the 3rd one a little they can be installed and the claw trimmed later on so you don't have to do it all at once.

Furthermore, the 2780's flow more CFM's per injector, than the engine is capable of ingesting in stock (factory cams and porting) configuration. The taller filters are K&N's as well but with the taller filters you gain nothing in intake efficiency. You gain in testosterone appeal, but that's it.....

and like Hellfire so aptly stated, you loose leg room.

It looks cool, but it does nothing.