Brigdgestone Excedra Max Rear tire

BigAl1952

Old Opinionated Bastard
Ride
2005 Rocket III
I have a good friend who is about ready to put one on and is wondering how well this tires sticks in the curves. For those of you that push it to the limit and love the twistys with your Rocket how well does this one stick? Thanks Al

I bought my R3 classic about 2 years ago. The previous owner had just put on a new Bridgestone Excedra Max before I purchased the bike. I am relatively new to the "twisties", but the tire seems to have handled fine - scraped floorboards and all. After roughly 10,000 miles, it is still on the bike. I consider myself a fairly conservative rider, I don't take a curve faster than I can control the bike, I don't burn rubber at intersections, peel out, or ride in a way as to cause excessive wear (I do like to open up the throttle on an open freeway though). I still have decent tread on it, but I will probably change it out at the end of summer.

It's great in the twisties! Night and day compared to the Metz. Holds well wet and dry, no issues scraping the board rails. No doubt there are many who push farther than me, but I don't think you'll find a more highly recommended rear for the rocket. If he's running on tracks he may need something sticker, but if he's staying on the road, go with the max.

I have a good friend who is about ready to put one on and is wondering how well this tires sticks in the curves. For those of you that push it to the limit and love the twistys with your Rocket how well does this one stick? Thanks Al

The Excedra Max works good for me, Amigo!
Now riding on my third one.

Dragon_1.jpg

The Metz has a slightly softer/stickier compound than the E Max, but the E Max is just the better tire all the way around for my money and I ride almost exclusively in the hills, dales and twisties.