2023 R3 GT Trying to dress out for long Haul rides >> HELP !!!

Micksan

Supercharged
Ride
2023 Triumph R3 GT, 2022 Moto Guzzi V85TT,
I got my new R# the day before Valentine's Day. My windshield came in yesterday from Poleland and looks great, plus good height. The owner said he was going to try and design some crash bars. I'll keep you informed Also found a complete shop manual on eBay. It was a bit over $200, but the dealer wants $400+ for the break-in service. I have been doing over 90% of my service since 1961. Because of our crazy weather, I have not gotten too many miles on it yet. Did find out that it is pretty stable with 30+ MPH side wind on I-40.
After a lot of internet searching for saddlebags ( Cases) & mounts, I came across Motor Machines. The man I talked to was nice and not pushy. They handle Hebco Becker leather saddle bags & rigid side cases. They have a " C ". Now comes my dilemma. The rear molding just under the seat appears to be a stopping point. I also have seen another brand out.
Here are my dumbass questions. #1 What is the best / preferred mounting system that is strong & reliable? #2 How big in liters are your side cases? The dealer only has 16-liter side bags. Not much for a trip & rain suit.
Anyhow I would appreciate any input . Thanks in advance Russ in OKC

Hi Russ, funny, we both picked up our new rockets on the same day, congrats!!

I’ve been doing some digging as well. I read the installation instructions for both the Oem saddle bags, and for the Hepco & Becker ones. With the oem, you get a new splash guard for the underside of the tail section, while the H&B provide instructions for drilling the mount holes, and grommets for a secure seal. Depending on you comfort level, the H&B solution looks diy friendly.